Named Colors

Requires a Wolfram Notebook System

Interact on desktop, mobile and cloud with the free Wolfram CDF Player or other Wolfram Language products.

Requires a Wolfram Notebook System

Edit on desktop, mobile and cloud with any Wolfram Language product.

In HTML 4.01, the language used for web browsers since 1999, there are 16 named colors: black, gray, silver, white, red, maroon, purple, fuchsia, green, lime, olive, yellow, gold, orange, blue, navy, teal, and aqua. Since 2004, more modern browsers have supported 140 named colors, which are shown in this Demonstration. With your mouse arrow, hover over a particular color to see its name.

Contributed by: Ed Pegg Jr (March 2011)
Open content licensed under CC BY-NC-SA


Feedback (field required)
Email (field required) Name
Occupation Organization
Note: Your message & contact information may be shared with the author of any specific Demonstration for which you give feedback.