Monarch Butterfly Life Cycle

Initializing live version
Download to Desktop

Requires a Wolfram Notebook System

Interact on desktop, mobile and cloud with the free Wolfram Player or other Wolfram Language products.

This Demonstration shows the four stages in the life cycle of a Monarch butterfly: egg, caterpillar (larva), pupa (chrysalis), butterfly. The duration of each stage in the cycle is also shown. Hover over the name of each stage for more details.

Contributed by: Rachel Lian and Stacy Hu (March 2018)
Open content licensed under CC BY-NC-SA



This was a project for Advanced Topics in Mathematics II, 2017–2018, Torrey Pines High School, San Diego, CA.


[1] Monarch Watch. “Monarch Life Cycle.” (Jan 24, 2018)

Feedback (field required)
Email (field required) Name
Occupation Organization
Note: Your message & contact information may be shared with the author of any specific Demonstration for which you give feedback.